NFF MPs not in parliament to defend his leader on Friday

During the unexpected motion brought to the parliament on Friday to suspend MP Wimal Weerawasa, none of the parliamentarians who represent the National Freedom Front (NFF) were in the parliament to support him, according to parliamentary sources.

Accordingly, the parliament had passed the two motions brought to suspend NFF Leader Weerawansa from Parliament for two weeks and MP Prasanna Ranaweera for four weeks for violating the code of conduct of parliamentarians.

The motion to suspend Weerawansa was passed by a majority of 18 votes with 39 members voting for it and 21 against. The motion to suspend Ranaweera was passed by a majority of 20 votes with 41 members voting for it and 21 against.

Ranaweera was accused of trying to grab the mace while Weerawansa was alleged to have used abusive language.

However, UPFA MP Udaya Gammanpila told The Sunday Morning that the Friday’s attendance sheet should be checked to tell exactly whether that NFF MPs were in parliament or not.

“Usually, after the first hour, majority of MP s are not sitting in parliament as they are going for different committees. The motions came in an unexpected time without a prior notice,” Gammanpila said. (MM)