Sports News

Nine SL cricketers in USA Minor League Cricket



Sri Lanka names in the USA Minor League Cricket (MiLC) 2021

Key: No. / Name / Team

1. Shehan Jayasuriya – Silicon Valley Strikers

2. Amila Aponso – Atlanta Fire

3. Dhyan Ranatunga – Hollywood Master Blasters

4. Shehan Fernando – Hollywood Master Blasters

5. Ruvindu Gunasekara – New Jersey Somerset Cavaliers CC

6. Isuru Kuruvitage – Ft. Lauderdale Lions

7. Roy Silva – Ft. Lauderdale Lions

8. Peter Vittachi – SoCal Lashings

9. Gayan Fernando – SoCal Lashings

Shehan Jayasuriya

Amila Aponsu

Dhyan Ranatunga

Former Sri Lanka cricketers Shehan Jayasuriya and Amila Aponso have been chosen to the inaugural USA Minor League Cricket (MiLC) tournament which will be conduct by the America Cricket Enterprises, on behalf of USA Cricket, from 31 July.

The US Minor League Cricket has announced the initial 16-player rosters for all 27 teams for the inaugural season of MiLC in 2021.

The Minor League Cricket player draft took place recently via video conference calls and was phased across seven geographic zones. In total, more than 400 players, including 80 international and first-class cricketers in the world, have already been selected out of a total of about 2,000 players.

Along with former Sri Lanka cricketers Jayasuriya and Aponso, Dhyan Ranatunga, son of legendary World Cup winning Captain Arjuna Ranatunga, Shehan Fernando, Ruvindu Gunasekara, Roy Silva, Isuru Kuruvitage, Gayan Fernando, and Peter Vittachi have too been picked for six teams in the 2021 MiLC.

The 27 teams in 2021 MiLC:

New England Eagles, New Jersey Somerset Cavaliers Cricket Club, New Jersey Stallions, Empire State Titans, Manhattan Yorkers, The Philadelphians, DC Hawks, Silicon Valley Strikers, Bay Blazers, Hollywood Master Blasters, SoCal Lashings, Golden State Grizzlies, San Diego Surf Riders, Seattle Thunderbolts, Austin Athletics, Chicago Blasters, Chicago Catchers, Irving Mustangs, Houston Hurricanes, Michigan Cricket Stars, St. Louis Americans, Atlanta Fire, Atlanta Param Veers, Ft. Lauderdale Lions, Florida Beamers, Morrisville Cardinals, and Orlando Galaxy
(Compiled by Ishani Upatharitha)