Parliamentary selection committee appointed

A 12-member parliamentary selection committee, chaired by the Speaker of Parliament, was announced in the House today (21).

The Members of the Committee of Selection:
Speaker Mahinda Yapa Abeywardena (Chairperson)

Minister Nimal Siripala de Silva

Minister Dinesh Gunawardena

Minister Johnston Fernando

Minister Douglas Devananda

Minister Dullas Alahapperuma

Minister Wimal Weerawansa

Minister Prasanna Ranatunga

MP Lakshman Kiriella

MP Gayantha Karunatilleka

MP Rauff Hakeem

MP Vijitha Herath

MP Selvam Adaikkalanathan

The Selection Committee is appointed at the commencement of every parliamentary session to consider the constitution, number, functions and quorum of Sectoral Oversight Committees and Ministerial Consultative Committees and to report with all convenient speed their opinions thereon to Parliament, and to nominate Members to serve in the committees.

These committees are:
(a) the Committee on Parliamentary Business;
(b) the Committee on Standing Orders;
(c) the House Committee;
(d) the Committee on Ethics and Privileges;
(e) the Legislative Standing Committee;
(f) the Ministerial Consultative Committees;
(g) the Committee on Public Accounts;
(h) the Committee on Public Enterprises;
(i) the Committee on Public Finance;
(j) the Committee on Public Petitions;
(k) the Committee on High Posts; and
(l) the Backbencher Committee