Revised tax policy on postal shipments to EU countries from today

The revised tax policy on postal shipments to EU countries will come into effect from today (01).

Accordingly, the new tax policy will apply to all postal items except letters addressed to 26 EU countries, Post Master General Ranjith Ariyaratne said.

According to the EU, the tax policy applies to postal consumers, online retailers and online merchandise of postal goods to EU countries.

Accordingly, for all postal items worth less than 150 Euros, the sender is required to pay VAT directly to the relevant country belonging to the European Union, the Post Master General said in a statement.

Also, goods valued at more than 150 Euros will be subject to other customs policies in addition to the country’s tax policy, so all taxes on postal items will be levied at the destination.

However, in case of non-payment of VAT and operating fees, the Customer will be liable for any further action taken by the Postal Administration or Customs of the country concerned.

Post Master General Ranjith Ariyaratne has informed the public that the Sri Lanka Postal Department is not responsible for any such taxes or other taxes.