Ruling party decides to unanimously defeat no-confidence motion against Gammanpila

The ruling party has decided to unanimously defeat the no-confidence motion against Energy Minister Udaya Gammanpila.

The ruling party group headed by President Gotabhaya Rajapaksa met last night (18) to discuss issues including the no-confidence motion debate.

Following the discussion, Ministers Rohitha Abeygunawardena, Piyal Nishantha and Ven. Athuraliye Rathana Thera stated that the government will take steps to defeat the no-confidence motion.

Minister of State DV Chanaka says that the no-confidence motion will be defeated by the ruling party as the increase in fuel prices is not a single decision of a minister.

Meanwhile, the no-confidence motion against Energy Minister Udaya Gammanpila is due to be debated in Parliament today (19) and tomorrow (20).

Accordingly, the debate on the no-confidence motion will commence after the sitting of Parliament at 10.00 am today.

The Samagi Jana Balawegaya party had submitted a no-confidence motion to Minister Udaya Gammanpila against the decision taken to increase fuel prices.