SL bans passengers from South Africa and South American continent

All airlines have been informed that passengers with a travel history including transit in the past 14 days to countries in South America and South Africa will not be permitted to disembark in Sri Lanka, Themiya Abeywickrama, Director General of the Civil Aviation Authority (CAA) stated today (04).

This move comes after countries in the continent of South America saw a surge in Covid-19 cases. 

South Africa too, saw an exponential increase in Covid-19 cases. 

Accordingly, the CAA stated that this passenger ban is effective immediately and will continue until further notice.