Sports News

SL to play qualifiers in next T20 World Cup too – Sports News in Brief




Compiled by Ishani Upatharitha 

* SL to play qualifiers in next T20 World Cup too

Both Sri Lanka and West Indies will have to pay the first round / qualifiers of the next T20 World Cup in Australia, from 16 Oct. to 13 Nov. 2022, as they are to finish outside the top eight teams in the ongoing World Cup in UAE. The winner and runner-up of this year’s World Cup plus the six other highest-ranked teams as on 15 Nov. will go straight to the 2022 World Cup Super 12. The remaining four in this World Cup, Sri Lanka, West Indies, Scotland, and Namibia, will have to play qualifiers next year. Notably, Bangladesh who lost against both Sri Lanka and West Indies this year gets a bye next year’s Super 12.

* India hope Afghans beat Kiwis to reach semis

“If Afghanistan lose, we will pack bags and go back home,” India’s Ravindra Jadeja has said. Yes, if India are to reach T20 World Cup 2021 semis, Afghans are to beat New Zealand today (7) at 3.30 p.m. SL time at Abu Dhabi. Pakistan will play Scotland in Sharjah from 7.30 p.m. today in the Super-12 Group-2 dead rubber.

England and either Australia or South Africa to reach the semis from Group-1 while from Group-2, Pakistan will be joined by either New Zealand, India, or Afghanistan. Semis are on Wed., 10 and Thurs., 11 Nov. and the final on 14.

* Aussies thrash Windies as Gayle, Bravo bid farewell

Gayle (on left) and Bravo bid farewell yesterday (6) at the T20 World Cup

Australia beat West Indies by eight wickets in Abu Dhabi yesterday to keep their one foot on the tournament semi-finals. The match marked the end of glamorous T20 International careers of two Caribbean legends, Chris Gayle aka ‘Universe Boss’ and Dwayne Bravo.

Brief Scores:

Super-12, Group-1, Match 38/45 in Abu Dhabi:

Australia win by two wickets

West Indies 157/7 (20) (Kieron Pollard 44, Evin Lewis 29, Shimron Hetmyer 27; Josh Hazlewood 4/39)

Australia 161/2 (16.2) (David Warner 89 n.o., Mitchel Marsh 53; Chris Gayle 1/7)

Player of the Match: David Warner (Australia)

Super-12, Group-1, Match 39/45 in Sharjah:

South Africa 151/2 (17.1) (Rassie van der Dussen 78 n.o., Aiden Markram 31 n.o., Quinton de Kock 34; Moeen Ali 1/27) vs. England at the time this edition went to press last night

* SL ‘A’ trail Pakistan ‘A’ by 225 runs

Sri Lanka ‘A’ trailed by 225 runs with eight wickets in hand in their second four-day cricket match against Pakistan ‘A’ at Pallekele yesterday (6). It was at close of the third day of the match.

Brief Scores:

Pakistan ‘A’ 1st innings 394 (106) (Abdullah Shafique 117, Agha Salman 103, Khamran Ghulam 45, Naseem Shah 31, Mohammad Haris 22, Khurram Shahzad 20; Chamika Gunasekara 6/83)

Sri Lanka ‘A’ 1st innings (overnight 64/9) 67 (22.2) (Suminda Lakshan 29, Nipun Dhananjaya 17; Naseem Shah 4/28, Khurram Shahzad 3/10, Arshad Iqbal 2/14)

Sri Lanka ‘A’ 2nd innings (following on) 102/2 (28.3) (Kamil Mishara 53 n.o., Sadeera Samarawickrama 19 n.o., Nishan Mdhushka 13, Nipun Dhananjaya 12; Agha Salman 1/17)

* Esandi, Prabhodi, Desandhi win medals at CFS premier chess

Desandhi Gamage won bronze medal at CFS Premier Chess

Esandi Newansa of Dharmasoka College, Ambalangoda, Prabhodi Wijesingha of Sabaragamuwa University, and Desandhi Gamage of Sirimavo Bandaranayake College, Colombo won the gold, silver, and bronze medals respectively at the final three rounds of the CFS Premier Women’s Chess. The top 16 players of the event reach the Online National Chess Championship Finals.

* RTC to hold 15 horse racing events in 2022

Royal Turf Club (RTC) is to draw its event plan for the year 2022 which will be released soon. RTC has reserved 16 April 2022 for Governor’s Cup, followed by 23 April for the Magic Million Cup. These two events are besides the remaining 13 race days that will be named according to the confirmation of sponsors.

“We were keen to hold events, but then it was obvious that things were beyond our control. The whole country was affected by the pandemic and now it’s glad to see we are in a position to make a comeback,” said Nisitha Rupasinghe, Treasurer, RTC.

* Major Club 50-over Tournament

Army and Tamil Union are leading the points table of the above tournament with three wins each. Yesterday, Army and Negombo recorded wins as three matches ended without any result. Five matches were called off even before the toss.

Army beat Kurunegala by seven wickets at Dombagoda:

Kurunegala YCC: 77 (27.4) (Sameera Sandamal 31; Thulina Dilshan 2/07, Heshan Hettiarchchi 2/10, Gayan Bandara 2/16, Seekkuge Prasanna 2/26)

Army CC: 78/3 (10.4) (Asela Gunaratne 25 n.o., Himasha Liyanage 21 n.o.; Lahiru Jayaratne 3/32)

Negombo CC beat Air Force by 11 runs at Katunayake:

Negombo CC: 137/8 (42) (Madhawa Warnapura 35, Upul Indrasiri 23, Dilshan Munaweera 18; Dulanjana Mendis 2/19, Asantha Singappuli 2/22, Lasanda Rukmal 2/32)

Air Force SC: 126 (38.5) (Sameen Kandanarachchi 23, Dilhan Cooray 22, Kemira Wijenayake 18, Upul Indrasiri 3/28, Madhawa Warnapura 2/15, Pasindu Ushettige 2/21)

No result between Badureliya vs. Bloomfield at Maggona:

Badureliya CC: 164 (31.5) (Arjun Shetty 40, Alankara Silva 28, Mithira Thenura 26 n.o.; Madhuka Liyanapathiranage 2/13, Malith De Silva 2/26, Mishen Silva 2/46)

No result between Police vs. Galle at Police Park:

Police SC: 141/8 (17.3) (Thillakaratne Sampath 42, Chathuranga Kumara 29 n.o., Chathura Lakshan 3/25)

Galle CC: 118/2 (18.2) (Chanaka Ruwansiri  48 n.o., Yashodha Lanka 23, Raveen Yasas 21 n.o.)

No result between Moors vs. Navy at Moors:

Moors SC: 85/1 (16.2) (Pabasara Waduge 37 n.o., Kavindu Kulasekara 29 n.o.)

* International rugby round-up: Ireland thrash Japan

Second-half tries from Sexton, Aki, Ringrose, and Conway and replacement Healy closed out a 60-5 victory for Andy Farrell’s men at Edinburgh yesterday. Ireland No. 8 Jack Conan became the Player of the Match.

Upcoming fixtures:

Last night: Italy vs. New Zealand, England vs. Tonga, South Africa vs. Wales. Today: Argentina vs. France (1.30 a.m. SL time), Scotland vs. Australia (7.45 p.m. SL time)