Sports News

SLAF men win National Water Polo Championship 2022

The Sir Lanka Aquatic Sports Union (SLASU) organised the National Water Polo Championship 2022, which took place from 18 to 20 November 2022, at the Sugathadasa Stadium Swimming Pool Complex. The unbeaten Air Force men’s team managed to win the title of National Water Polo Champions and claimed the trophy after eleven years.

The grand final was held between the Old Thomians’ Swimming Club (OTSC) and the Sri Lanka Air Force team where SLAF beat the OTSC by nine to seven. SLAF came back strong after a setback in the first quarter falling behind by four to one. Leading Aircraftman Udayathara RLK was recognised as the Most Valuable Player (MVP) of the tournament while Officer Cadet De Silva UIO was awarded the “Highest Scorer” of the championship.

Aquatic Sports Union President Nethru Nanayakkara and SLAF Aquatic Pool Chairman Air Commodore Asela Jayasekera attended the awarding ceremony.