SLPP members elected Chairmen of two Pradeshiya Sabhas in Trinco following budget defeat

The Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna (SLPP) members of Uppuweli Kadawath Sathra and Morawewa Pradeshiya Sabhas in Trincomalle were elected as PS Chairmen following the defeat of the budget, the SLPP said.

The Tamil National Alliance (TNA) won the Uppuweli Kadawath Sathra PS at the Local Government election in 2018.

After the budget proposals for the year 2021 had been defeated on two occasions, SLPP member R.A.T.S.D.Ratnayake was elected as Council Chairman with 12 votes.

The power of Morawewa PS was also held by the TNA. Following the budget defeat on December 31, SLPP member W.R. Jagath Kumara Weragama was elected Chairman.