Tamil parties further postpone final decision

Five Tamil political parties who met today with regards to the Presidential election further postponed their stand on the issue and told Tamils to vote for any candidate they like during the postal voting tomorrow (Thursday).

The parties met for talks today in an attempt to reach a final decision on who they must support at the election.

However, as Presidential candidate Sajith Premadasa has yet to release his election manifesto the Tamil parties decided to postpone their final decision.

They however decided to tell Tamils to vote for anyone they like during postal voting.

The five Tamil political parties recently signed a memorandum highlighting the key demands of the Tamils.

The memorandum contains 13 demands including a demand for a political solution and abolishing the Prevention of Terrorism Act (PTA).

Illangai Thamil Arasu Katchi (ITAK), People’s Liberation Organisation of Tamil Eelam (PLOTE), Eelam People’s Revolutionary Liberation Front (EPRLF), Tamil People’s Council (TPC) and Tamil Eelam Liberation Organization (TELO) signed the memorandum.

The memorandum notes the acceptance of the political aspirations of the Tamil Nation, recognition of the merged Northern and Eastern Provinces as the historical habitat and the traditional homelands of the Tamil Nation, acknowledgement of the sovereignty of the Tamil Nation and realisation of the fact that the Tamil People under the provisions of International Law are entitled to the right of self determination.

Both Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna Presidential candidate Gotabaya Rajapaksa and New Democratic Front Presidential candidate Sajith Premadasa have rejected the demands.