Sports News

Tokyo 2020 Women’s Soccer: US, Great Britain favourites to win gold




Compiled by Ranjika Perera

Twelve nations compete for Olympic glory after reigning gold medal winner Germany failed to qualify


Group E

Great Britain, Chile, Canada, Japan

Group F

Brazil, China, Netherlands, Zambia

Group G

Sweden, United States, Australia, New Zealand


Wednesday, 21 July –

Great Britain 2 – 0 Chile

Brazil 5 – 0 China

Sweden 3 – 0 USA


Saturday, 24 July

Chile vs. Canada (Sapporo) – 1.00 p.m.*

China vs. Zambia (Miyagi) – 1.30 p.m.

Sweden vs. Australia (Tokyo) – 2.00 p.m.

Japan vs. Great Britain (Sapporo) – 4.00 p.m.

Netherlands vs. Brazil (Miyagi) – 4.30 p.m.

New Zealand vs. USWNT (Tokyo) – 5.00 p.m.

Tuesday, 27 July

USA vs. Australia (Kashima) – 1.30 p.m.

New Zealand vs. Sweden (Miyagi) – 1.30 p.m.

Canada vs. Great Britain (Kashima) – 2.30 p.m.

Chile vs. Japan (Miyagi) – 2.30 p.m.

Netherlands vs. China (Yokohama) – 3.00 p.m.

Brazil vs. Zambia (Saitama) – 3.00 p.m.


Friday, 30 July

2E v 2F (Miyagi)

1E v 3F or 3G (Kashima)

1G v 3E or 3F (Saitama)

1F v 2G (Yokohama)


Monday, 2 August

1F/2G v 2E/2F (Kashima)

1E/3F/3G v 1E/3F/3G (Yokohama)


Thursday, 5 August

Bronze medal match (Kashima)

Gold medal match (Tokyo)

* All times are in Sri Lanka Time

World Champions USA women’s soccer team favourites to win Gold at the Tokyo 2020 Olympics

The women’s soccer tournament at the Tokyo 2020 Olympics kicked off on Wednesday (21). Great Britain played the opener against Chile which they won by 2-0.

The 32-year-old Ellen White scored both goals for Britain. The second match was between China and Brazil which ended 5-0, in favour of Brazil.

For Brazil, Marta scored twice and Debinha, Beatriz, and Andressa scored one goal each. The World Champions USA played their first game against Sweden and it was stunning results for Sweden who beat tournament favourites by three goals to nil.

Germany failed to qualify

Even though the No. 1-ranked U.S. women’s national soccer team lost their opening game, they were tipped to be the team to beat in the seventh women’s Olympic soccer tournament since 1996.

The USA have already won gold in four occasions with Norway and Germany claiming the other two. The gold medallist from Rio 2016, Germany failed to qualify for the 2021 tournament.


The Americans’ main challengers for the 2021 gold medal will be Brazil and Netherlands who are ranked seven and four respectively. The host nation Japan, Great Britain, and Sweden, who are all ranked inside the top ten, will also fight for a place in the podium.

The women’s soccer tournament starts with a group phase that divides the 12 teams into three groups (E, F, G). The top two teams in each group automatically advance along with the two best third-place teams.

The group stage awards three points for a win, one for a draw, and none for a loss. Teams are ranked on points with the first tie-breakers being goal difference and then goals scored.