Tourist Police ‘posts’ to become ‘stations’

  • Existing stations also to be upgraded: Prasanna

By Dinitha Rathnayake


Minister of Tourism Prasanna Ranatunga said that steps will be taken to modernise the existing Tourist Police posts islandwide to police stations while also upgrading the existing Tourist Police Stations.

He emphasised that the move was aimed at ensuring the safety of tourists expected to visit the island after the Covid-19 pandemic.

Accordingly, necessary officers will be recruited for the Tourist Police units while other necessary infrastructure facilities will be provided. Discussions in this regard have already commenced with the Defence Ministry, Ranatunga noted.

Speaking during a visit to the Arugam Bay Tourist Police post, he added that steps will be taken to upgrade the Arugam Bay Tourist Police outpost to a police station.

At present, 16 Tourist Police units have been established islandwide. Steps have been taken to upgrade the Unawatuna, Kalpitiya, Mount Lavinia, Eththukala, and Arugam Bay Tourist Police posts to Tourist Police Stations this year, according to Ranatunga.

He further added that the Tourist Police has been assigned under a separate Deputy Inspector General of Police (DIG) and that measures are being taken to streamline the activities of these police stations for the safety of local and foreign tourists.