Vasudeva says no Interim Government talks held with President

BY Buddhika Samaraweera

There was no discussion between President Gotabaya Rajapaksa and the group of Government Parliamentarians (MPs) who recently decided to leave the Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna (SLPP)-led Government and act independently in Parliament, regarding the formation of an interim Government, during the discussion held between the President and the said group of MPs, according to MP Vasudeva Nanayakkara.

The said discussion between the President and this group of 41 MPs was held at around 7 p.m. on 10 April.

Following the discussion, when queried as to whether President Rajapaksa had agreed to form an Interim Government, Democratic Left Front Leader and MP Vasudeva Nanayakkara, who is among the said 41 MPs, said: “No, there was no such discussion. We could not take up the matter with the President.”

Meanwhile, another meeting between the former President and incumbent Sri Lanka Freedom Party (SLFP) Chairman and MP Maithripala Sirisena and these MPs was held at the former’s residence in Colombo on the same day. 

The said meeting, during which the no-confidence motion (NCM) and the impeachment resolution which are currently being signed against the incumbent Government and President Rajapaksa were discussed, was also attended by the main Parliamentary Opposition, the Samagi Jana Balawegaya’s (SJB) General Secretary and MP Ranjith Madduma Bandara and MP Eran Wickramaratne.

Speaking to the media following the discussion at Sirisena’s residence, Government MP Anura Priyadarshana Yapa, who is among the said 41 MPs, said: “The current political situation was discussed during the meeting. This is a progressive trend. The Samagi Jana Balawegaya (SJB) is a political party. We also represent several political Parties. Accordingly, we hope to hold further discussions.”

A total of 41 MPs who represent the SLPP-led Government informed the Speaker of the Parliament Mahinda Yapa Abeywardena on 5 April that they would be functioning independently in the Parliament from that day. Among them are 14 SLPP MPs who represent the SLFP.