‘Visa on arrival’ to re-commence

‘Free Visa on arrival’ to re-commence after the Cabinet has approved of the previously suspended service.

The proposal was presented at the Cabinet meeting by the Minister of Tourism, Development, Wildlife and Christian Religious Affairs, John Amaratunga.

The service was temporarily suspended as a result of the Easter Sunday attacks with the intention of ensuring the safety and security of the nation from foreign threats.

As a result of the favourable prevailing conditions in the state, the Cabinet has approved the re-commencement of the program with the sole intention of promoting the tourism sector and making travel conditions favourable for foreigners to visit the island.

Accordingly, tourists from Thailand, the European Union, the United Kingdom, the United States, Japan, Australia, Switzerland, Cambodia, who have previously been granted free visa on arrival, tourists from Denmark, Sweden, Norway, Finland, Iceland, Philippines, Russia, China, India and England too will be eligible to receive the service.